PIP

Oregon law requires non-commercial drivers to carry insurance that covers medical expenses and wage loss regardless of who was at fault in the accident. Your insurance company is required to provide personal injury protection, or PIP, when you or your passengers suffer injuries as a result of a collision. The minimum policy in Oregon covers reasonable and necessary medical expenses for one year, or up to $15,000, whichever comes first. The policy will also pay wage loss of you are out of work for 14 consecutive days as a result of your injuries. Seventy percent (70%) of your usual wages will be covered, up to $3,000 per month, for up to 52 weeks. PIP also covers loss of services, and in severe accidents pays funeral expenses.